Wintry Day

I was keen to get out today and take a look at our wintry sights, but after slithering down our long drive in the car and one lap round the block I decided enough was enough and really wished I had a 4 wheel drive vehicle.

But I was determined to head out yet again, this time on foot and I had the company of Daughter E. We crunched our way round our small town for two hours. It was lovely to be out with the sun glaring, hearing the voices of young children and seeing teenagers throwing snowballs and laughing. Our main street was busy but very icy, people walked with care as they went about their shopping. Road men were out in full force clearing the roads and putting gravel down.

While I would've preferred to have gone to one of my regular haunts near the sea or by a river it just wasn't possible today instead the band rotunda, a memorial and rose gardens in a local park.

As I type in the late afternoon it is only 3 degrees, while our house is warm its very cold outside and its going to be a few days before the snow is gone and the roads clear again.

Friday tomorrow and what a week its been! :)

Not the best composition, that memorial stone is really getting at me why on earth they sited it there I'll never know, it really takes the eye away from the rotunda - I should've moved to the side a little more, oh well - live and learn :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.