chaos

By Chaos

Classic Matanuska

The sun came out today, which is good.

I wanted to return to a site that I found while looking for the Colony Barns. This is classic Matanuska Valley, green hayfields, the red Colony barns, Pioneer Peak of the Chugach Mountains. It doesn't get much better than this!

So I was enjoying the view and staying warm when I suddenly felt the hair go up on my back. I distinctly felt someone was watching me.

Just as I turned around, there he was, scintilla! I was caught red handed poaching some of the best views in Alaska in his territory.

Oh well, he was kind enough to let me show you this. So, we then drove around the Palmer area looking for more Colony barns and other old log buildings. We must have found 8 or so barns and several other old log out buildings and cabins.

We later had some crub and brew at the Matanuska Lodge overlooking Wasilla Lake at the base of the Chugach Mountains.

A good Alaskan day with good views, good beer, and a good friend.


Colony Farm, Matanuska Valley, Alaska (google maps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.