Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Goodbye Copenhagen

Up bright and early to tidy the flat (not that it was untidy, of course) and get ready for coming home. But I got the departure time wrong. By two hours! Fortunately it was two hours early, not late!

And so we had plenty of time for a last wander round our neighbourhood. We found a cafe that seemed familiar, The Laundromat Cafe, and indeed we had been in one (they have three) years ago in our 'edgy' area. It was fantastic, but we could only look at the fantastic breakfasts going out - a plate of pancakes, scrambled egg, yoghurt and nuts, tomato, bread and various little pottles of stuff. We had eaten a bigger than normal bowl of muesli to use it up, and so couldn't fit another thing in. Oh, and we'd had the two remaining Magnums. There was also fantastic, very quiet, jazz music, with lots of bass sounds. We really wished we'd found it while were there and not just on our last morning.

I set off the alarm at the security check. I think it was my bracelet, but it doesn't usually. I had to have a fairly vigorous pat down by a soaking wet security guard. I know he was soaking wet because I was up on a wee stand while he was patting me, and I got the giggles and put my hands on his shoulders (he was down about knee level). He was not pleased and said, 'Don't touch!'

Plane delayed an hour. Then it flashed up with the gate number (miles away) and the flashing sign 'Boarding'. Charged along endless corridors and I joined the boarding queue, only to find it was to Bristol. Rushed to the correct boarding queue. Was our flight boarding? No. Our plane had not even arrived! We all went through the check in desk and STOOD in the sunshine flowing in through the large windows, for three quarters of an hour! That's EasyJet for you.

Home to a nice cool evening and a lovely tidy flat. The only way you'd know someone has been here is that the cushions are in different positions and there was a bottle of bubbly on the table.

We loved our time in Copenhagen, and so my choice was not the lovely evening shot of the Forth Bridge as we came in to land (I wasn't at the window) but a street scene. I liked the reflections in the windows, and that very pregnant lady came out of that graffitti-ed door, behind which was an almost vertical staircase. I do hope she wasn't on the fourth floor! If you look big you can see it's a sneaky SP too.

I may take it easy tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.