Starboard, 'thick a fog'

Beautiful fog and rain today, a blessed relief for everyone from the heat and humidity of last week. The earth needed a good washing.

We did nothing but read, do crossword puzzles and watch cat antics most of the day. In the afternoon we drove to Starboard Creek, about 6 miles from here to end of Rt 92, the route that that passes our house. The road ends at the sea. It's one of our favorite places in the world, and was my father's as well. My relatives from here are from my mother's side of the family, but no one loved Machiasport more than my dad. Nestled in that stand of pines is a cottage from the 1930s that I just learned you can now rent . That would be a very, very fine place to lay one's head and fill one's senses with the surroundings, creek and ocean

The road back home is hilly and beautiful, a pity the shopping mall was closed!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.