CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Three herons on Loch Etive

After a long and busy day I walked eastwards along the road beside the shoreline of Loch Etive. It was getting dark and the midges were beginning to come after me. I spotted one heron first of all nearer to the house, but it flew away when it heard me approach. Then from afar I spotted these three herons waiting as the high tide approached them so they could stand in the water to fish.

The distant one grabbed a fish soon after I took this picture and then flew away with it in his beak to stand on the stony beach to swallow it.

It is very late now so I may return in the morning to add a few more words. As I sit here after midnight, I can hear a few birds on the water outside the window, which is only about twenty metres from the now quiet sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.