The Old Parish

It has been another hot and humid day today. Started off dull but very hot. I had to go to the village as I had some unwanted items to hand in to the Hospice Shop, and I met a friend, actually two, for coffee in the village coffee shop. Always great to have a good blether.

While we were there we thought that it was going to rain, as it got quite dark, so we just had to chat on for a bit longer, and then the sun came out. As I was heading home I took this shot of the Old Parish Church and the inn, which are icons of the village.

The current East Kilbride Old Parish Church was built in 1774, but there has been a church on this site since pre reformation times. When the current church was built, it stood in the midst of a small village. Today it stands in the midst of a large new town with a population of over 75,000 people.

Just beside the church is the Montgomerie Arms....the oldest inn in East Kilbride today. In 1840, there were 15 inns and public houses in East Kilbride. The name commemorates the Montgomerie-Cunninghame family; in the 18th century Sir Alexander Montgomerie Cunningham inhabited the House of Kirktoun Holm. The inn has retained the original spelling of the name.

My blip of yesterday's flower reached the spotlight page, and I have to thank all you lovely people who made such lovely comments, and gave the picture stars and hearts. I am grateful for such encouragement, and well chuffed too. Thanks a million, you are a great bunch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.