Summer Rolls On

Back home, back to the grindstone, but at least with a clear head. The pressure is even greater but I feel like I can handle it now. There is space in my head to think where there was none before I left.

It was a fabulous little break for both TJ and myself. One last little anecdote from our trip that I want to record, and which goes a long way to explain why I love the woman so much. For a while now the automatic locking on her car has been bust so it just isn't possible to secure it. When we left the car at Doolin for our overnight stop on Inishmaan I asked her if there was anything she wanted me to take that she wasn't happy to just leave in the open car. The only thing she could think of was her storm kettle, and then, after a little deliberation, concluded that anyone who was desperate enough to nick her kettle was probably in more need of it than herself. She's simply the loveliest person!

I left a very warm Dublin yesterday afternoon to arrive in a distinctly cool Yorkshire, but it's warmed up again today. The sun shone very hazily and I cycled to and from work, albeit rather slowly. I'm still in holiday gear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.