Skate Carpet...

Did you know that the official world record for the highest ollie (jumping straight off the ground with the skateboard, no hands and landing back on the board) on a skateboard is held by British skater Danny Wainright at a staggering 44.5 inches.

I once thought that fairly achievable record to go for would be number of ollies in a row. This held by Rob Drydek at 215. After the beating my legs took on 40 various denominations of flips to get this shot, I think it may not be so easy.

Notes on the Picture
The trick in the picture is a Nollie Heelflip. I pushed the front of the board down to pull it up into the air and kick it so it flips over with my back foot. Surprisingly easy and consistent on a piece of carpet.

Even though a lot of these tricks are second nature to me now, it still astounds me the physics involved in it. The intro to the film Yeah Right illustrates this beautifully and the first trick in the sequence is actually the one I landed here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.