Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Another day, another bar. Is this a series?

Accidentally stayed out in town too long this evening. We keep forgetting that we're not young things any more. We went into the Angel's Share (at 5pm) - a fab bar that we discovered a few weeks ago. Charming gorgeous bar staff, all hired for their good looks, I think. Or else they're all Polish. We had our usual (once before) seat by the window, ordered up a huge sandwich each with salad (dressed!) and a bottle of NZ wine (£22 - £45 in Copenhagen). It all seems so cheap here. Still.

A couple of lads were setting up by the wee piano. Live music! They started up - guitar and piano - all good stuff - no screeching - modern folksie interspersed with oldies, and a bit of jazz and rock 'n' roll. They were very good.

A crowd of grey haired folk came in. They waved and smiled at the group and settled down beside us. I asked if they were 'groupies'. Yes, one chap said the guitarist was his son. The granny and a couple of couple of friends were with him. They were jigging along to the songs they recognised. The granny (and us!) recognised 'Take it Easy' by the Eagles. Then they'd do a Beatles one. They could do anything.

At a break after an hour the young guitarist (Callum) came over to talk to his dad and gran. I had a chat to him and said how much I enjoyed the set, a good variety with oldies like the Eagles, but new stuff from the Mumfords. Did they do any Admiral Fallow songs? No, but he wanted to know how I knew them.

I kept trying to take photos. I took some from the front and some from behind, because I liked the chandeliers in the pub. In the second set, they sang 'Hotel California' and the guitarist turned round to see if we were jigging along. We were!

The pianist saw me pointing the camera at them, so he started fixing his hair. Then the guitarist looked round. Two different shots, but I cloned them into one shot. Please don't look to closely as nothing is focussed too well, and there will be stray bits of equipment, and possibly an extra leg. I shouldn't do any Photoshopping after a bottle of wine!

I popped in to see Uncle A this afternoon. He's sitting up in a chair looking quite perky (considering). I must say, the meals at the hospital looked rather good. Rice pudding was my choice for tea tonight. Though Uncle A chose ice cream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.