Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Another first

Another leisurely morning with a long Skype call with our pal B in NZ. Isn't Skype wonderful!

Then a wander over to a cafe we don't frequent, but we were told had excellent coffee. It did. Then we all bussed round the Meadows, and while JR went on into town, Archie and I got off to walk back through the Meadows. And for the first time, he trotted up the bus aisle. I usually have to carry him off, after one embarrassing exit where we set off and he sat down, so I dragged him along the length of the bus, with everybody thinking what a terrible dog owner I was.

What fun in the Meadows. Two cricket matches to walk around. I scored a pair of Jackie Onassis - or for younger folk, Victoria Beckham- sunglasses. We sat down for a while, and Archie just lay beside me, on the shady side, I noticed.

We met a tiny wee Indian girl- she was like a wee doll. She spotted Archie coming, and came and held my hand and patted him. So sweet. And her dad thanked me.

The only dog we met was this huge husky type, Lupo, who was taking his owner for a walk. He gave Archie a good going over, sniffing everywhere, while Archie just stood and let him. As you would.

Imagine my delight to arrive back just in time for the NZ/Scotland Sevens match (which was pretty close, amazingly enough). My claim to fame is that I taught beside the NZ Sevens team coach (he's been the coach for many years now) and one of my ex-pupils played for the NZ Sevens.

The hedge and the grass are calling to be cut... but I shall resist their calls and stay in front of the TV with my finger on the Red Button. So enjoying being able to flick between sports. Table Tennis at this level bears absolutely no resemblance to the Ping Pong I know.

I'm so glad I'm not actually at any of the sports. At most events there is ear shattering godawful NOISE (I believe it's carefully chosen music) at every slight pause in the action, presumably to add 'atmosphere'. Or perhaps to drive everyone out to buy snacks every five minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.