The Acrobat

Here is one of our crows (there are three now) grabbing a dog food piece and taking off. I am sitting on the deck in the shade, reading a book on my iPad, and waiting to see who flies in. In come the jays. In come the crows. This was my favorite shot of the day. Closer look at those feathers.

Another busy day today. When Arvin put his contact on this morning his vision was blurry. Yesterday he had a procedure on his left eye which is doing just fine. The contact is on his right eye in place of a lens. It is a long story and I don't think you want to hear it because it is gory. It involves an eye accident Arvin had before I knew him. The way things stand today he has a contact on his right eye and wears glasses. Anyhow, I figured it was because of the particular contact he used this morning as his regular ones had run out. We popped into the ophthalmologist's office and picked up the regular ones. We got home and he took out the offending one and tried on a new one. Even worse. Oh oh.

By this time it was 11:3o and I had a book club lunch at noon. So I called the doctor and tried to schedule a late afternoon apt. Nope. Come right now they said. My heart sank. I love my book club meetings and my painting buddies. Sigh. So we trundled back to the doctor's office and I called my buds to say I'd be late.

The doctor's assistant put up the eye chart and Arvin couldn't even read the big "E" with his contacts on. Oh oh! The doc came in and took out the contact. Arvin said, "I don't understand. Now I can see better." The doctor ran through the testing machine (which is better - number 1 or number 2?) and the results were weird. Then he noticed... Arvin still had a contact on. He had put today's contacts on top of yesterday's which he had forgotten to take out. Phew! What a relief. The doc said not to worry as it happened all the time. I was so glad that nothing was wrong.

I took Arvin home and got to book club only about half an hour late. I had a great afternoon with my lady painter friends. Today there were nine of us. The book was Blind Your P0nies which we all liked very much. I haven't quite finished it but am enjoying it very much.

When I got home Arvin was taking a nap so I went out on the deck to continue reading the book club book and watch the birds... Go to the top and begin reading. ;-)

Thanks to Bethanne for the new title.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.