La vida de Annie

By Annie

Tubular Bells for two...

...at the Philharmonic Hall tonight. I nearly didn't go as I was completely blatted after (non-alcoholic) family celebration lunch at Bem Brazil (excellent) to celebrate #2 son's graduation earlier in the week. Despite having great difficulty walking I managed to get out and I'm so glad I did - what a show! For a taste of their talent see here. The tour is now over but you can still catch them in August at the Edinburgh Fringe. Most of the audience were of an age appropriate to being students 40 years ago, when the chief entertainment was chilling in a student house while imbibing/inhaling feel-good substances with the Tubular Bells LP on the record player (music playing device for those too young to remember), with the arm lifted to make it auto-repeat indefinitely as no-one could be bothered getting up off a comfy cushion-lined floor to change it. I was reminded of that fact when I heard several old geezers remarking that they'd never actually heard the second side of the record...

Danny and Aiden are incredible musicians and very charismatic guys - despite being exhausted after a very physical performance they had time to speak to the many people who queued to see them in the foyer bar afterwards. Super show, and a lovely trip back to my misspent youth...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.