kettwigefrau

By kettwigefrau

Storm in a teacup

This Friday and Saturday has been the Star Wars Celebration VI Europe here in Essen, and boy did the geeks crawl out of the woodwork.

I didn't have tickets (like the films, but am in no way obsessed by them the way some people seem to be) but it did strike me that it could provide the perfect blip*.

We got back into Germany first thing in the morning (7am flight are not pleasant) and the day was already hot, it got hotter, then it thundered and then it got hot and steamy, consequently I didn't get to the messe** until after 5, as people were either leaving or queuing to go and watch an open screening of some Star Wars film .

I rarely take photos of strangers, I lack the guts to walk up to someone and say (in German of course) can I take your photo please? This time I decided to go for it, after all if you go to a Star Wars 'Celebration' and spend the day in 30C dressed as your favourite character surely you're well up for having your photo taken? Not so the first guy I asked, he brushed me off and carried on striding home (but it's OK seeing as I don't even know what/who he was supposed to be!) The second guy was ace, he positioned himself, checked with his friend that his belt was straight and gave me a good photo - just a shame that I have no idea what/who he was either!

Then I got to the main entrance/exit and stopped asking, there were too many people just milling about, a fair proportion of whom were outlandishly dressed - these guys take their characters seriously!

May the force be with you!


* the convention centre is quite near a very trendy bar/restaurant area and when the annual games exhibition is on the streets are thronged with adults playing dress up.
** messe = convention centre

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.