HarrietGeorgina

By HarrietGeorgina

Lake Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico - Panorama

Lake Chapala in the state of Jalisco, is the largest lake in Mexico - at least it is when it's full of water. Unfortunately, the effects of global warming have begun to take their toll in recent years, and I was reliably informed that it has been a good while since the vast expanse of water could be appreciated fully.

Near the end of my month in Mexico, I decided to leave Campamento Tecoman (the Turtle Camp where I was living), and travel to Guadalajara (the second largest city in Mexico), for a few days before returning home. The contrast in lifestyles was refreshing, and I enjoyed the luxuries of a hot - non salty shower, lack of sand, and diminished number of flesh eating mosquitos, amongst many others!

Just outside Guadalajara you find Lake Chapala, and on a hot clear Sunday afternoon the locals were out in force. An almost festival-like atmosphere could be found down by the shore, and local artists and musicians drew animated crowds away from the stalls selling Corona, Tequila and Sangria. I can't help but think that if somewhere similar existed in the UK, that the quaint stalls that I encountered would be turned into commercial restaurants or bars, and the relaxed locals and visitors would not simply venture out for an afternoon jaunt, but instead be bussed in from miles around and made to pay entry fees.

Lake Chapala is a hidden gem near a bustling metropolis - I hope it stays that way for many years to come.

Olive Ridley hatchling

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.