Break Even

One gamble that didn't pay off


We took a drive this afternoon to Perry for a nice jaunt and to browse in a small shop called the Red Sleigh that we've read about. it was really quaint with all sorts of Maine made goods and delicious organic greens. T had a fine seat in a chair made from a lobster trap . We bought some anadama bread and a bag of organic greens and some dinosaur kale. We'll go back again.

We decided to take the turn to Eastport on the way back and have a look around. It was once a booming city with sardine canning factories making the town rich. It's a shadow of it's former self and pretty down and out. There's a wonderful pottery shop we love called Dancing Dogs and some old architecture and a fabulous deep water port. We walked around a bit, saw that some empty restaurants and shops that are no longer open and had a couple of lobster rolls by the waterwater.

To get to Eastport you drive through Passamaquoddy Indian Tribal Lands and a town called Sipayik. Nora, my grandmother was friendly with a Tribal Chief, Joe Lola, who made her some amazing snowshoes . We still have them here at the Maine house, safe. My brother and I used them as children at home... we managed to lose the sealskin bindings, but the snowshoes are still in fine shape.

The drive home was lovely and tide high. Raspberry loved her new catnip toy from Eastport.

Thank you for the comments on my blip yesterday inside old Liberty Hall in Machiasport. I'm really proud of the photograph, when I looked up the stairs I saw the shot in my mind and the camera caught just what I wanted.

For the Record,
This day came in with bright sun then sun and clouds. Rain on the way for tomorrow they say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.