CHURCHYARD

Had one of those days when you seem to be interrupted all the time and have lots of distractions and never get anything finished. I have also felt a bit unwell so my concentration has been wandering. Just getting around to blipping at 11pm.

I did however go to Slimming Club and lost 2½ pounds this week. ( Total weight loss 2 stone 6½ pounds. )

After the meeting I wandered around the churchyard and decide to blip this monument to the musician and composer William Shield. He was born in Swalwell, which is near here, in 1748 and died in 1829. He is buried in the south cloister of Westminster Abbey, in the same grave as his friend and fellow musician Johann Peter Salomon. Shield was buried in the Abbey at the request of George IV as he was a special favourite of this monarch. Shield's works include a large number of operas and other stage works, including one on Robin Hood, as well as instrumental music, but he is principally known for his light English opera Rosina.

As usual on a Monday I then went to Tesco in the village. I was overcharged AGAIN. Among other things I bought three packs of cherries but I was charged for SIX packs. Its a good job I always check my till receipts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.