Another walk

An early start again - got picked up at 9am by Lilian and we drove to Derwenthaugh Park to join the others for a Tuesday morning slimming group walk. Longer walk this time - about 4 miles. There were 5 adults, 2 children in buggies, one child on a bike and one on a scooter. The weather was cooler than it has been recently but still lovely.

Derwenthaugh Park is a reclaimed site which was once a coke works. It joins on to The Derwent Walk Country Park which includes the 11 mile trackbed of the old Derwent Valley Railway. We walked part of the way along the railway path and then came back through the old coke works site.

My blip shot shows the weir on the River Derwent. On the left you can see the Derwenthaugh Fish Pass which was completed in 2012.

The weir was built during the industrial revolution. It resulted in the fish and eels being unable to migrate up the river for hundreds of years. The fish pass was built to allow upstream migration and includes 3 " flights " and 2 resting pools which allow the fish to regain their energy during their journey. The number of salmon, trout, grayling, dace and eels have increased since the pass was built. I took this FRONT VIEW which shows the pass more clearly but I liked my blip shot better.

After the walk I got dropped off in the village, did a bit of shopping then walked home.

After lunch I felt really tired so I went to bed for a couple of hours. Felt better when I got up.

There is another walk tomorrow but I won't be able to go as my friend Jan will be taking me for the big grocery shop.

Still playing catch up with comments - will get there in the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.