GUESS WHO VISITED THIS MORNING

my buddleia? The Swallow Tail or the Papilio machaon in latin.
A big surprise and I was exhilirated that I just stood there and saw her coming.
In a second I saw that this was, to me at least, a very extraordinary butterfly, never seen before in the garden.
She landed upon the flowers of the buddleia and very careful I walked nearer.
I have two buddlei bushes, one rather small and one higher up a big one. The butterfly loved them both. And I followed her from the one to the other.
She flew away, circled around, went to our neighbours garden and came back again. This she repeated several times.
I danced with her! Concerned about the setting and the angle from where to take my pictures.
Then the sun disappeared ebhind the clouds and the butterfly did not come back.
I started to look at my pictures and deleted many, and later almost all.
I have kept four and, of course with Piet Hein's help, I choose the blipfoto.
The Papilio Machaon is a protected butterfly, and so is the caterpillar.

My haiku:

Keep the Buddleia
Ready for all kinds of guests
And the Swallow Tail

And the proverb:

Men moet niet eerder springen, voordat men bij de sloot is.

Translation:

Do not jump before one reaches the ditch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.