In memoriam

Decided on a run to the Domain this morning. Cloudy and near rain. Not a lot to see until I went up to this fountain in front of the Cenotaph and the Auckland War Memorial Museum. This is a relatively recent addition and is a further acknowledgement of those men and women who fought in the various wars in which New Zealanders have been involved.

I then went to the office where I had a quiet day planned; one assessment for the family Court, and then write the report. I was about to start working on it when I noticed that the screen saver had become all broken up into jangled colours, and I could make nothing work. Did my thing of removing and replacing the battery which made everything worse.

Panic. Calm when I remembered that it backs up regularly on Time Machine. Then it started to work again. And stopped again. And so on. Took it to the Ubertec people and got told the likely cost of repair and considered that a five year old ("Vintage" they called it) machine wasn't worth spending that on. They transferred all my files to a new MacBook Air, and I will find everything easier to carry.

Really had to have it sorted by the weekend as on Sunday I am off to Melbourne for a one day meeting on Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.