Ferari

NOT mispelt.

Ferari is an artist run gallery near our apartment. It is housed in what began its life as a corrugated iron garage; presumably not used to house a Ferrari. I have passed by many times, and have frequently seen people standing around in the doorway, drinking alcohol, and looking as if they are having a very laid back party. I created all sorts of scenarios, if I bothered to think about it at all.

Tonight on the way home after a pleasantly full day at the office, I saw that they were open, and stopped. Walked back and asked about them. That is how I know what they are. I then talked a little more. They are open two evenings a week, and they have special do's for openings of exhibitions.

Tonight is one of their regular times of being open, and the exhibition, Logical Coherence is showing until late August. The artists are Mason Vincent, Jessica Driver and Fu-On Chung. They have all recently graduated from Art School. They were due to arrive later this evening, apparently. The person I was talking to is "one of the curators".

I explained to him about my taking photographs for blipfoto, and also told him how to look it up, and perhaps find the photograph I wanted to take. he was extremely happy for me to do it, and clearly thought that it was a neat idea. He told me that they have a website, and so I googled the name.

Google wanted, wanted desperately hard, to direct me to sites about the car. I resisted and found their facebook page, where under the heading of a new event, I found both the name of the exhibition and the following backgrounder, presumably provided by the three artists.

It has been said that in order to receive kindness, one must be generous with acts of kindness of their own. Or to treat others in a manner in which they themselves would like to be treated. And thus the idea of friendship came into fruition in this world. The idea of camaraderie is alluring, helping our fellow brothers and sisters in order to move forth in unison. There is comfort in the knowledge of belonging to a fellowship or a pact. Through the act of lending sympathy towards each other, Logical Coherence becomes an amalgamation of disparate aesthetic values.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.