Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

185 Empty Chairs

Sitting on 185 sq m, this poignant art installation commemorates the 185 lives lost in Christchurch's February 2011 Earthquake. It's a powerful piece, one that I found surprisingly overwhelming. It's amazing how the emotions of that time come flooding back.

It's been a great afternoon; Daring2Go and I met for afternoon tea and the briefest of wanders around the Rolleston ave end of the gardens, between the Curator's house (site of said afternoon tea) and the Peacock Fountain. I took the GorillaPod focus with me again, wrapping it around the fountain's railing for a 5-second exposure, using an ND filter. I was pleased with the result, but it could not touch the rawness of those ghostly white chairs.

This blip's dedicated to Paul, who sadly perished on that fateful day. Rest in peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.