Muuuurm

Happy Birthday, Charlie.

I love the old - the olives; the sticks; the muck; the wanting so much to like chocolate; the "and Muuuuurm"; the fibbing 'tell'; the determination; the obstinacy; the sense of injustice and consideration for others; the cuddles; the making things, mending things, destroying things; the "I know"; the gardening; the bedtime stories and the hand you sometimes still let me hold.

I love the new - your own very clear taste in music; Minecraft; Lego; Meccano; your best friend Leon; the deals; the Observer books; the maths; the notes to the tooth fairy (who doesn't exist, but just in case); Greek mythology; the lists and learning to compromise.

I hope you have a great time sea-fishing with Grandpa this afternoon (and that one day you realise the sacrifice that Nannie has made in going on that boat - she doesn't like it at ALL!) and that your ninth year brings more joy, wonderful experiences and only lovely people into your life.

I love you, Charles Arthur Hugh x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.