Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Sour Face

When we came here on our honeymoon I had a proper cocktail for the first ever time, in typical bloke style it was a vodka martini shaken, not stirred. A week after returning I gave up alcohol for health reasons. I was extremely ill, with what was eventually diagnosed as post-viral fatigue syndrome. It lasted bloody ages, and a couple of relapses occurred as well. I did enjoy a drink, and missed it like crazy, but in the last four years I have saved a fortune, never had a hangover and felt a lot better for it.

However, I had some low-alcohol lager a few weeks ago due to the unignorable thought of just wanting a cold beer on a very hot day. It seemed OK and nothing bad happened for the following few days. So, to get in the holiday mood, to celebrate the upcoming anniversary and to take advantage of a rather attractive 2for1 offer, Mrs H and I ordered a cocktail at our favourite place. She had a Cosmopolitan and I had a Whisky Sour - I had never had one before and it was a tad sour (as you can tell).

We did the same before our anniversary meal and I had a white Russian - WOW! -it tasted just like a mini-milk. I am going to make it a Whitby-only treat though I think, don't want to risk health and old habits ;) Back to the cycling and sparkling water now we're home. Actually, I am hesitant to get on the scales as I ate so much seafood and occasional treats whilst there that I have put my plans back by a fair bit I reckon. I did jog to Sands End and back on the beach one afternoon with Jnr Snr, but my legs absolutely killed for days after! The seafood is another thing I adore about Whitby, this time round it was crayfish tails that did it for me; a pot everyday with lemon juice and white pepper...YUM...I even converted Jnr Jnr by the end of the week.

Backblipped as part of the Whitby 2013 no wi-fi and ran out of 3G credit collection

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.