Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Small White (Pieris rapae)

These butterflies have been regular visitors to the garden in recent weeks. They are quite difficult to get close to as they seem very sensitive to movement, soon flying off when I try to get close (and I wanted to get close!).

Still, photography, particularly nature is never easy and perseverence is a prerequisite of good photographs. I won't say how many rejects I have had, just chuffed to get one in focus. Natural sunlight, an obliging butterfly and a high degree of luck.

I'm interested in getting into extreme macro photography. Does anyone have any suggestions for good background reading? I'm talking about the types of photographs where the frame is filled by a small insect's head.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.