Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

2 For 1 Offer

When we were down in Kent last weekend visiting our youngest son and his girlfriend we commented on the amazing number of butterflies during a country walk. We also talked about how few we had seen back home despite the good weather.

Today all that changed. I was on the phone and looking out the window when I saw umpteen butterflies on the Buddleia which is now in full flower. The phone conversation was cut short so I could grab the wee compact camera and get a few shots. Fortunately, the caller, who is the chairperson of the camera club and I was speaking to about our forthcoming photographic exhibition, understood the need to capture the moment while the sun was out.

It was lovely watching all the Small Tortoiseshells flitting between the flowers and competing with the bees for the best feeding station. I did manage to get a shot of a butterfly and bee in flight but it was slightly fuzzy so I settled instead on this special 2 for 1 offer!

Strange thing was when the sun went behind a large cloud the butterflies disappeared and weren't to be seen anywhere!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.