A Big One

Having passed the my 365th blip is quite liberating and I don't feel compelled to post what might be expected. However, I still find myself in the same early morning routine, which at this time of year means checking out the blip possibilities near the bird feeder. I rattled off a number of blips concentrating on the Robin Chick that I have posted before. Amazing to see how its red breast is developing.

This afternoon I went out fishing with one of our neighbouring friends. The weather was muggy and changeable, one minute sunny and the next a sharp shower. However, we still enjoyed the fishing with Wum catching half a dozen nice Mackerel. The best fish of the day was caught by myself on a new lure as we changed tactics when the Mackerel went "off the feed". I felt a thump on the line and thought I had snagged on some heavy seaweed. However, as I reeled in to clear the seaweed the line moved and I realised I had a big fish. The rod was bent over double as I continued to reel in and I was gob-smacked when I saw a huge big Pollock break the surface. Once home he weighed in at 3lb 2 oz which is not bad but not the biggest caught in these waters. I took the official Pollock Blip against the measuring tape to show its size, but decided instead to post a different angle on this nice fish as I though SuzyQ might prefer it!

Been a great day. Must dash back to the screen for the next exciting part of the Olympics!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.