how felice sees

By dawdler

Japan - Day Seven

One of my favorites of all the places we visited - the Takayama morning market. I am afraid that one photo doesn't really capture its simple beauty. A single long street overlooking the river with makeshift tented shops on one side of the road and stationery storefronts on the other. Fresh fruit & vegetables in baskets, handmade paper umbrellas, raw fish, calligraphy signs on fine paper, wood carvings - a cornucopia.

I could have stayed here all day week month but of course, we were soon off to the next town. The advantage and disadvantage of a tour... If we had made our own arrangements, it is likely that would have never known about this place. On the other hand, there was not enough time to properly soak up all the wonderfulness of this open air market.

And the handwritten sign just made me smile although I am not sure i understand what it means at all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.