Umbrella Girl

Arvin, Helena and I drove down to Anacortes to spend the day with Dave and Nora. We stopped at Trader Joe's on the way to pick up some mozzarella and parmesan cheese for Nora's dinner dish. When we got to Dave and Nora's we all walked downtown to the Anacortes Art Festival. We walked up and down Commercial Street to look at all the booths and to sample some of the yummy food there. Dave is the Kiwanis Key Club adviser so he spent some of his time at their snow cone booth.

Arvin and I bought a few gifts and a tilandsia for him and a beautiful handmade vest for me. We bought sweet smelling soap for Helena. This beautiful young woman was doing a living statue act. She stood still until somebody put some money in the box below where she stood. When that happened she would bend and smile and perform a short graceful movement and then stand still again until the next person made a donation.

When we got back to Dave and Nora's, Arvin and Helena took naps while Nora sewed and I fiddled with the photos on my camera and did a bit of commenting on Blip. Then I helped Nora put together a delicious veggie lasagna and Caesar salad for dinner. Dave came home from closing up the snow cone booth and did the finishing touches on the salad by making his signature Caesar dressing. We ate outside as it was warm and bright even at seven when we sat down to eat.

On the way home I really wanted to stop the car right in the middle of the road to take a photograph of the sunset over the refinery reflected in the shallow bay. Alas I could not or I'd have caused an accident. So I just imprinted the beautiful sight on my memory and kept on driving home. What a great day.

A bit late for commenting. I may do some stealth stars later. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.