Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Henna and the Art of Making Do

Today was the second day at my new, full-time job. And it was a long one, although without the drama of my first day (thankfully). Getting home exhausted this evening, I was acutely aware of the need to shift and refocus my priorities. It's not possible to be gone 10 hours a day and still do all the things I need and want to do outside of work.

The house still needs to be maintained and the shopping done. I want/need to spend quality time with each of my kids and spouse. And to exercise. And to journal. And visit or at least chat with friends.

Tonight I had to make a few compromises and combine activities. My girls helped me with my journaling by offering to pose their henna tatoos for my picture. All the kids pitched in to get the kitchen cleaned up. And rather than go for a long run on the river, a walk to the grocery store with my husband offered a little exercise as well as some time to talk.

For now, it's the best I could do. As I settle into the job, hopefully more exercise and time with friends will be able to climb back up the priority list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.