Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

In the heat of the day

Yesterday Sara passed on to me the little black and white film camera used in the Blipfoto project When you're a stranger.

In 2010 I published a book entitled THE BOOK OF STRANGERS: Portraits of Londoners, therefore street portraiture is no mystery to me, however it can be time consuming.

I decided to walk from my home in Kensal Green to Notting Hill, a distance of two miles and an opportunity to encounter a good selection of people. I walk down Portobello Road, which has a market most days, so a chance of a buzz.

Today was not the most successful excursion in my life but I will tell you who I met and who I missed.

The first chance of the day was missed when the woman in question jumped on a bus. She was a willowy muslim woman of around 20. She was in full hijab and sun glasses. Beneath her outfit appeared a black T-shirt with a massive red Shepard Fairey Obey logo on it. The contrast was shocking. I was sorry I missed her.

Walking down to Golborne Road, I didn't expect much luck. There are a lot of north African men of an often challenging disposition. Today was no exception. As I walked past the hairdressers I heard a disturbance in the hairdressers. One of the market inspectors had been assaulted by the owner. I stopped and discussed tis with Aileen, an 85 year old fruit and veg seller who ran a stall near by. Illegal immigrants are a big issue in the area, hence the general attitude to photography. Sadly Aileen wouldn't be photographed either, despite having lived here all her life.

Further down Portobello I found a West Indian fellow outside the Bookies. He wore a trilby hat and had a sunny face. I explained what I was doing and he told me kindly that he distrusted websites generally, so wouldn't allow me.

By this time I was 2/3 of the way to Notting Hill and beginning to think that the usual casual encounter would not be enough, I'd have to find a more intensive strategy.

In Blenheim Crescent there's a painting of Joe Strummer from The Clash, with his quote "Without people you are nothing", perfect. I hovered around looking for likely candidates. Many people walking too fast, a few who didn't speak english when I approached. Then Mary approached me, actually looking for the Pound Shop, but a perfect choice. I will be interested to see the picture in black and white and on film.

Further down the road I found Amy, the French Bull Dog and her daddy. I'm not sure doggie portraits would have been allowed though.

My picture of the day was just me responding to the clashing graffiti and the atmosphere on the market, so not a posed shot, just an idea I had.

Ok, so who wants the camera next?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.