An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

'Beam Me Up, Scotty!!'

I've been inspired recently by Dekoy's colourful one second blurry shots and vowed to try this sort myself, again.

Obviously, this is the teleporter, in the SS Enterprise. .

Well, actually, shooting on manual with full-frame D700 and very old totally manual Nipon Kogaku 35mm f1.4 (for handheld long exposures, you need a simple, light lens, as your actions need to be smooth). All I did was to move the camera downwards through the one second exposure, the 'beams' being fixed lights in the quite low ceiling.

Down in the sort of shopping alley in the small hours and for the first time, when doing night-time shots, the local Police seemed keen to know what I was up to, driving quite quickly through the mall, which in itself, was quite disarming! The diesel clatter of a Vauxhall estate patrol car in an echoey, closed-in environment when it is otherwise silent, well...

If they had thought that I was an escaped psychotic lunatic, then my answer (showing them the camera screen) of this being 'quite science-fictiony' could hardly have helped my cause, immediately thrusting me into nerd as well as insomniac categories but I guess indeed, harmless, so they said that they would let me get on with it and simply drove off again. Being rather put off from taking more, I came home with this as probably being my best effort.

Looking in LARGE is OK, too...

Seems that my last two Blips have each got to the no.3 position in the Spotlight, thanks again to all who helped them on their way there.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.