Windows on the past

Well the play last night, The Ebony Bird, was pretty heavy stuff. We all emerged pale and clammy into the humid evening air, not quite sure what we'd seen and whether it entirely worked. Basically about a man, lonely, neglected, not quite all there, who was preparing for the visit of the Pope in the 1970s. In his youth he had seen terrible things and done nothing about it and was now plagued by thoughts and memories. On one side we had his good conscience, on the other his bad, both played by actors. The choice apparently was suicide or penance! oof.

Still rushing and will be out again tonight as it's Annabel's birthday and we're off to Antonio's in Ballydehob for a pizza. I rushed into Schull to get a few bits and pieces and returned via one of my favourite abandoned house. I reckon this has been empty since the 1980s, there was an Irish Examiner on the floor from 1987. it has been ransacked a bit since I last visited - by humans or animals I don't know. It has a very melancholy air indeed. My first attempt at a collage. I really liked the image of the crucifix and the mildewy colours but couldn't resist the forlorn portrait of the big bosomed woman - grandmother maybe?
More images can be seen here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.