... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Looking West From Wittering

Backblip 1 of 2
Better in large ("L")

I spent the weekend with friends in Wittering, West Sussex.
I had a wonderful time: the weather was very changeable (the were heavy showers and overcast moments) but it was mostly bright and sunny with large swathes of blue sky brushed between dramatic clouds.

I've struggled to choose what to blip: I took 517 photographs, of which there were 424 keepers, of which I ranked 152 "3*" in Lightroom (= blip-able in my system!), and 42 were 4* (unusual for me, but there were too many 3* ones...). I took many photographs that were in unusual styles for me: land/seascapes, water-sport action shots, candid portraits! Where to start... I ruled out candid portraits as I wasn't sure whether friends would object, I ruled out birds and insects and flowers as they are too much like my usual stuff, and was left with action shots and land/seascapes. I've chosen to blip two beachscapes as they represent my weekend best (other than the water-sports and candid portraits...) as we spent our time outdoors and enjoying the seafront.

While I was standing on the beach photographing my pals, a man ambled over and struck up conversation. We chatted about photography and I told him about blip. He has now signed up, and I'd encourage you to welcome him (here) if you've a moment!

The bad news is that my 24-70mm (which performed excellently on the trip) has been getting progressively more scratchy-feeling in its zoom action, so I've taken it in to Fixation to see if they can correct it. The man who took it in said, "this typically happens after an impact" which I found rather affronting: "It hasn't impacted anything: you can examine it thoroughly and you'll find no sign of any impact!". He replied (calmly) that they would examine it thoroughly, but I'm worried that they'll assume that it is my fault! Argh...

ANYWAY, I'll phone them on Wednesday and see where we are; in the meantime, expect to see lots of 70-200mm shots.

p.s. I like the three little figures to the left of the tide marker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.