Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

From the sublime... to the ridiculous!

Well, it was rather a loooong journey yesterday. Didn’t get home till 1 am. Bed by 2am. People in and out and up and down the stairs. Someone hoovering at 3am. Yes. Hoovering. At 3 am! The joys of tenement living during the Festival...

JR was off to work this morning and in sympathy, I was up and hit the ground running (if only I could) by 7am - doing multiple washings, fiddling with the workings of the front door so that it doesn't bang so loud (sounds worse at 3am), ringing about the erratic Kindle, ringing about the travel insurance almost doubling (cancelled it).

We have a bit of an important project on at the mo, and so I had work to do on that, and indeed I had to to go into town on a mission. What a nightmare trying to get across town on a bus in the Festival! The bus drivers must be issued with some sort of Valium chewing gum. I need some.

Mission accomplished, I walked up the Royal Mile to check out that it was as mad as ever. Yes it was!

I have no idea what this person was supposed to be, he was horrific enough from the back, but even worse from the front. Look at the poor wee child’s face. He’ll probably have nightmares tonight. Especially if he then saw the world's most pierced lady, who was also out in her finery metalwork.

Popped down to see Uncle A. My cousin, who lives in Airdrie, has a week off and has kindly come over to stay with Uncle A. What a star! Uncle A is very happy to be home. They were planning a wee walk out to the shops. Uncle A has helpers coming in three times a day, which is wonderful service.

I may have an early night tonight. I hope nobody is hoovering after 9pm.

PS Thanks for all your kind comments on my Connemara sojourn. I may take me a while to catch up...

PPS Only left one thing at the cottage - my battery charger...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.