Queensland, and an anniversary.....

'Twas an unfortunate anniversary today. Exactly one year ago today my daughter Emma was injured in a car accident and her health has been suffering the consequences ever since.

Emma had yet another doctors appointment today, and being the anniversary of her accident she had vowed not to drive a car all day, so I drove her up to Southport at the top end of the Gold Coast, dropped her at the door (there was no parking within cooee of the doctors rooms) and found a back street about two kilometers away, where I could park on the side of the road and quietly read.

Whilst sitting in the car I took a few photos of the passing traffic, the stores along either side of he road and the busy roundabout at the intersection ahead, but what really caught my eye was this lovely old Queensland weatherboard home.

I'm guessing from the style of the windows and the decorative woodwork, this house would be around 100 years old, which is about as old as you are ever going to find in suburban Australia. I'm also guessing that there would have been a day, back many years ago, when the occupants of this home enjoyed a quiet surrounding area, possibly even farmland.

And I really love the huge Jacaranda tree, shading the front of the house. It won't be too long before this tree will be covered in mauve coloured flowers. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.