JOURNEY TO THE 'AMSTERDAMSE BOS'

I travelled to Amsterdam Zuid Railway station and I would walk to the Olympiaplein where I should meet our friend Cor. When I was half way he phoned that he was at the station and if I could return and meet him there. A good start of a lovely walking day.
I had brought a new bought map, because I knew that Cor would not have one with him. And on the map I could see that there still exited the botanical garden of the Vrije Universiteit, that in time will be destroyed for buildings. We found the entrance and walked around. And pondered why this wonderful little paradise had to disappear, as so many other pretty places. We signed against it both.
From there we did walk in the wrong direction but in doing so we were able to buy some sandwich and buttermilk, that we intended to eat on a bench in the Amsterdamse Bos.
This forest was planted in the thirties of the last century for the 'werkverschaffing', meaning the men without jobs were obliged to dig the holes and plant the trees.
We did not find the forest exiting, but I saw one very interesting spot where some plants did shine like jewels, and how did that happen? The almost completely eaten leaves were full of little shiny bugs who were frantically eating.
No picture to show however that could give a good impression of what I saw.
My blipfoto shows a yellow butterfly with her tiny head in a hortensia flower, she seems to rest between the flowers. We found her in the farm now pancakes restaurant Meerzicht.
Another significant detail of our staying in the forest was the fact that every five minutes an airplane came flying over, descending to land at Schiphol airport.
Our walk back along the Bosbaan, where matches are held. Rowing, swimming, etc.
When I was sixteen years old I swam there the one kilometer in very cold water, not easily forgotten.
From the Stadionplein we drove to Amsterdam Noord to the Thai restaurant where we ate eat the nice meal, that has become a tradition one could say.
And then I took the train and the Lightrail back home. Tired but satisfied as is the saying.

My haiku:

Trees not very old
Planes above our heads making
Noises in summertime

And the proverb:

No time like the present.

As it it late now of course, I will go sleeping and catch up tomorrow







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.