Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A new world record

Yesterday I had to give up pacing around, waiting for the new battery to charge… I remembered that a blipper had mentioned that you could get the electronic camera manual printed out easily enough, so I rang up a print shop,

How much to do a A5 booklet of 150 pages?’ I was expecting an answer of £10, £20 … who knows.

That’ll be £6.’ So I hot footed it into town and they did it for me there and then. And spiral bound it and put a cover on it for another 50p, which was all I had with me.

Today I popped down with the camera to show Uncle A and my cousin, who both oooh-ed and aahh-ed suitably. Then I was off into town to get used to using it.

People seem to expect different photos, for some reason, but they’ll be just the same, really, just different EXIF data. But what you don’t see is the joy of handling it. And what joy!

There is the teeniest, tiniest lag in the EVF when you put your eye to it, but the AF is FAST. And the burst (9fps) is real fun. It makes a nice sound too. I was able to get lots of candid shots really quickly with the lightning fast AF. There are two control knobs on the top, front and back, which are great for changing settings quickly, while keeping your eye on the viewfinder.

I fiddled with the settings, pumping the speed and the ISO up, seeing what it could do. I wanted a fast moving action shot, so I hung around these two performers. They were stupendous! I had a front row, and had my (fairly) wide angle on. Gosh, I had fun.

They asked that the front row (mainly kids) sat down so that those behind could see. I had to apologise to those behind me saying I couldn’t get up again if I sat down.

The girl, forget her name (she’s the one on the left) and the chap (Dan) are learning circus skills in Finland, or one of the Scandinavian countries anyway. They study full time, and then work for three months to earn enough to keep studying. He cleared the crowd and came running in from the left.

This is SOOC. Except that I did clone out a person's head bottom left. Never start to clone cobbles. Life is too short!

I gave them £5, which is a world record for me!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.