The second half of life..

By twigs

Lights out!

My holiday - it's getting closer. Just 17 more days until I leave for 6 weeks away . . . . . . the need to get things done/sorted/bought/tidied/organised/marked/planned/mowed/weeded is beginning to feel a bit weighty on my mind.

Had a bit of a tidy up of my desk after work - that felt good. Still too many odds and ends to be sorted, but it's a start.

Headed to town around tea-time to watch the girls play netball - getting towards the crunch end of the season and they need to maintain their winning streak. The game started well - 3 up at quarter time. That's when the fun started . . . . . . . the lights in the gym went out. Actually, the lights everywhere from Nelson to Wakefield went out - and they stayed out for a long time. Although the decision hadn't been made to call the game off at that stage, I decided I'd had enough of waiting and headed home. It was more than a little eerie driving along streets with no street lights and through traffic lights that weren't working.

Decided to stop at the beach for this shot of the Tahuna Hills looking very light-starved, (although it's odd there are some street lights on and some houses with lighting). By the time I got home power had been restored to my area so I didn't have to resort to candles - not sure at what stage the lighting in town was restored though.

A peculiar end to an otherwise good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.