... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Devon Day 2: Exmoor Rally

Backblip Day 2
Whizzier in large ("L").

On day 2 in Devon we had a slow morning, and then went off for a walk on Exmoor. We stravaged around in the sunshine, and found two barrows on the moor. I've been to Dartmoor many times before and Exmoor only a couple of times; Exmoor seems so much less harsh and wild than Dartmoor... I'm sure that there are barren and stark areas of moorland, but it certainly seemed pretty gentle and welcoming where we explored.

We saw tiny spotted orchids, and a tree that appeared cobwebbed with lichens. On our way back to the car we saw many unusual and quirky cars drive past with rally plates showing; I'm not sure what the theme of the rally was, but they were all pre-80s cars. I enjoyed photographing them sweep past with my shutter-speed low to give them more of a sense of speed.
This is a Sunbeam Stiletto which was rather cute; it is a tiny car based on a Hillman Imp (I wanted to identify it and the pictures provided enough hints for an ID!) and this particular one looked very well looked-after.

p.s. I had a rather wonderful encounter with a huge bumble bee too: it landed on my shirt and started exploring slowly. It was too close for my lens to focus on, and I felt overwhelmed by the urge to stroke its very furry body: I stroked it on its thorax above its wings (very gently), and was amazed by how velvety and soft its hairs felt. It didn't seem to mind at all, and kept exploring my shirt unperturbed... I stroked it a few times (with my friend rolling her eyes and saying that I'd regret it when it stung me...) and it only took its leave once it was fed up of my sugar-less shirt. It was so exhilarating!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.