LapsedCanon

By LooseCanon

An accident waiting to happen

I suppose when this pretty little toll house was built in the days of horse and cart it seemed a good idea to place it so it appeared to be in the middle of the road.

Unfortunately the road leading up to the bend is 1/4 mile and dead straight and we had said that it was only a matter of time before someone failed to take the bend.

Earlier this week a car ploughed into the pretty little hexagonal building at high speed. When I cycled past this morning I spoke to the occupant who told me that her bedroom was immediately behind the wall and fortunately she had got up early that morning. If it wasn't a listed building I think it would have been demolished as there's not much holding the roof up now.

I don't know about the driver.

Here's a picture of it before the accident

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.