Serendipity

Serendipity is the accident of finding something good or useful while not specifically searching for it. And so my story of the perfect evening begins...

As soon as the book festival tickets were available to buy, I snapped up tickets to see Neil Gaiman, one of my all time favourite authors. Every year, when the programme is released, I search the P section for Pratchett too. Again this year, he wasn't appearing. This wasn't much of a surprise. Following the shock announcement in 2007 that he had early onset Alzheimer's Disease, I figured I'd never get the chance to see him.

A chance post on Gaiman's twitter feed made me look at the Edfringe series called Ad Lib - Gaiman is on the show on Saturday. I decided to check out the rest of the other Ad Lib nights: the show was billed as showcasing some of the country's most brilliant and creative minds. I nearly fell off my seat in excitement to see Terry Pratchett on the line up. Serendipitous.

So tonight I have seen two of my all time favourite authors. I simply cannot imagine life gets better than this. I am in awe, I am beyond happy and above all, I am grateful - both for everything their work has brought me and for the amazing opportunity I had today.

Tonight I have blipped Sir Terry Pratchett, I am seeing Neil Gaiman again on Monday so you will see him then!

I'll leave you on one final note...tonight someone asked Sir Terry, if he was a wizard at the Unseen University, who would he be? He answered the Professor of Serendipity.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.