Root city

It has been a busy day.

On this morning's walk i just took a couple of shots and this is of a large tree which was uprooted quite a while ago and its bare roots still lie at right angles to the sky, with just one or two big roots still attached to the ground, keeping it alive. This close up shot shows the fabulous gnarled roots and through the two holes beyond you can see the green of the undergrowth. Whenever I pass this tree - and it is most days - I wonder what little creatures are living here and imagine that the whole root structure must seem like an entire city to them. When my children were young I used to read to them from The Brambly Hedge series of books about families of mice who lived in the hedgerows and in roots like this one ...I wonder if my son and daughter remember the books as well as I do?

This afternoon I spent hours in the garden doing quite heavy work in the rather humid atmosphere and am now absolutely exhausted - so if you don't mind I will post this and then relax in front of the TV with my quilting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.