The Wren

By TheWren

Back garden

This view is what greets me every morning when I wake up - usually about 6 -7 am as my body is still unsure which time zone it is in! I bring my cuppa outside and look to the hills beyond the golf course where the greens are fresh from their nightly watering. Sometimes I can see a family of chipmunks scampering about in the tufts of dried grasses. I have time to eat my breakfast out here but then the sun starts to climb higher in the sky and it becomes too hot, even for me. There are numerous chores in the morning to get ready for the afternoon trip to the hospital, most of which my daughter-in-law likes to do, including dealing with the bedding from the babies' isolettes which needs boiling and drying - the hospital sends these home with the parents to avoid cross infection in the hospital's washing machines. It is a task we are happy to help with as otherwise we are often left feeling useless as the medics do their work. Also Kymba, the very patient golden retriever enjoys her walk whilst it is still relatively cool although my son also has a clever coat which he soaks before he puts it on her back and it miraculously wicks the heat from her body.... i could do with one too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.