Billboard Hits

By chicklet

Little Ole Wine Drinker Me

Showaddywaddy 1983 (haha)

Except it wasn't wine, it was the Singapore Sling, in this 'ere Elephant Bar in Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

So far so good here, the hotel is delightful, if only about 25-30% occupied I think.
The two chaps who checked me in were quite sure there must be some mistake with my booking because a) I am staying a whole week b) I have not been paid for by a company and c) I appear to have forgotten to bring my husband. The guest services manager, who has worked here for six years, assures me that he has never had anyone stay for a week purely for a holiday and I can't think of any reason why he should lie about it. I suppose I knew that Cambodia isn't in the top ten world tourist destinations but even so I have been suprised at how few fellow travellers I have seen.....and it ain't cost that's prohibitive here, I have a seven night Raffles stay for the price of two, maybe three in a Holiday Inn in London....ok the electricity blips on and orf a little but that's *charm* innit? My lovely room overlooks the pools, which are in the middle of the complex with rooms arranged around. There are two pool boys to bring towels and fix umbrellas and no more than half a dozen peeps there at a time. Anyway, Saturday was arrival and unpack day...with a couple of drinkies and a reasonable early night wondering what tomorrow will bring..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.