Physalis

Popped into the supermarket on my way to work yesterday and spotted these unusual fruit? in the reduced section! Thought they were worthy of a blip (and today is a very wet one so far so I needed an indoors one today)...

Tried out my new tripod indoors and found it very difficult to get it close enough to the windowsill which is where the best light in the room is (daylight)...ending up tilting it with the camera on top which doesn't help shaking hands.

I googled the name because I've not heard of them before and the Oxford Dictionary says:

Physalis

Pronunciation: /ˈfʌɪsəlɪs, ˈfɪs-, fʌɪˈseɪlɪs/

noun

a plant of a genus that includes the Cape gooseberry and Chinese lantern, which has an inflated lantern-like calyx. •Genus Physalis, family Solanaceae: many species

Origin:

modern Latin, from Greek phusallis 'bladder' (because of the inflated calyx)


Love the textures in the covering of this 'gooseberry type' fruit, I've used HDR to enhance that a bit :)

So far as I can gather they are very sharp, dry fruit and best used as decorations or in jam? Any other blippers know anything about how to use them?

Rough night last night, up and down a lot again :( I went back to bed this morning after a very early breakfast and slept a bit more.

Just cooking an early roast chicken, then off to work :)

Happy Sunday folks, hope its not too rainy where you are :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.