Bad Start, Good Finish

Two immature goldfinches slammed into the sliding glass door onto our deck this morning, making a surprisingly loud noise for such tiny birds.

This one looked stunned when I opened the door to see if they'd survived the crash. Its companion seemed near death at first, but after about half an hour it was sitting up, although still seemed in very poor condition.

Needless to say, breakfast was late, as Phil and I went back and forth between the kitchen and the deck to check on the birds, which I think were Lesser Goldfinches (the link includes the birds' song, as well as other information).

On what was to be my last visit to them, as I opened the deck door, they both flew away! We're glad that letting nature take its course had a happy ending today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.