Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Oh to be in England

After a very nice week spent in Germany oohing and ahing at the sites, it was good to get out and take a walk in the English countryside to remind myself just how great things are here at home.

It was interesting because in Germany, we met local people who enthused about England in the same way that we were enthusing about Germany. I guess the point is that you take what you have for granted, and long for something different.

Went with Diana, Adrian, Debbie and Tim, all of whom feature in this picture. 8.5 mile round walk with a stop off half way round for lunch at a very nice pub in Northill. We need to go there one evening as they had a good selection of vegetarian options for Diana. Something that could not be said about Germany or France for that matter.

We put the route map into a plastic map pouch which for reasons known only to him, Tim wore around his neck but hanging behind him instead of in front. He therefore earned the nickname Map Man (a new superhero). I even have a picture of him doing his super her0 pose :-)

On the scales this morning. Put on 4 1/2 pounds in Germany. Not as much as I had believed. Will make a start on shifting that tomorrow.

Message from Rosina today. She went out on a 3rd date with her gym instructor and when she got back to his car, there was a gift waiting for her on her seat. It was a zebra striped onesie (strange gift if you ask me, but I guess it's a bit cold at night in Melbourne and I doubt Rosina took her onesie out with her, so maybe it's a sensible gift). Anyway, this conversation took place via our 'Sheilas and Bruces' group, so Rachel got to hear about it. She questioned the whole thing only to be told by Rosina that she didn't realise she had sent the message to the group; she had meant to send it to me. Rachel was not impressed that Rosina had been confiding in me her dad and not her, her sister. It didn't help when I posted a message asking who this Rachel person was and Rosina replied 'I don't know a Rachel'. I think I have some bridge building to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.