stujphoto

By stujphoto

Macro Photography made easy....

I discovered the joys this morning of doing macro photography with a zoom lens. Normally for subjects like these I would be using one of my macro lenses. With a choice of two lenses and and a full frame camera body (EOS 5D) and 1.6x camera body (EOS D7) I have a choice of a macro length from 50mm to 160mm. However, today I decided to go out with my 200mm zoom lens on my EOS 7D which effectively gave me a 320mm lens. This enable me to have a very small depth of field if I wanted it though I had to get used to standing well away from from the subject, at least 1.5 metres.

It was a relatively bright day so I could readily experiment with using the camera hand held which again is a new experience for me, since as a John Gravett disciple I realise this is totally beyond the pale. So I shot of a range of wild flowers and grasses and latterly some butterflies and beasties.

Through a accident whilst gardening around some harebells, I found the ideal,, but unethical, solution to isolating them from their usually very busy background. One of the bunches of harebells came away itself when I was removing grasses around it. This enabled me to place it against whatever background I liked including a white painted wall and some mossy stones. I decided against this as my blip but you will find it in my blipfolio. Harebells

I was in fact spoilt for choice when it came to my blip but decided that these beasties on the flower head were sufficiently alluring to claim the top spot. Definitely worth seeing LARGE if only to prove you can do macro photography with a zoom lens

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.