The second half of life..

By twigs

Drips....

There's a wee kiddies playground just behind the vets. I had hoped to see some littlies playing there when I popped over there after having been to the vets, but with all the rain we had today all I found were drips...

So why had I been to the vets?

I've actually been to the vets for the last 3 days....

Poor ol' Bene hadn't been too good last week - off his food, sleeping heaps, drinking more and more water - so on Sunday I took him to the vets. They took his temperature (which was high) but couldn't find anything in particular wrong with him. It was decided the best course of action was to keep him in overnight and run some blood and urine tests.

On Monday they called me at work to say his temperature had rocketed even higher and he was dehydrating so they wanted to put him on a drip. The blood tests had raised some concerns over white blood cells, the details of which I didn't understand but the gist of which worried me. They kept him in on Monday night too.

I went to see him again after work today and was so relieved to see some of his old spark returning. He's still on the drip and they are waiting on the results of some blood tests they ran today so he's been kept in again tonight. The vet did put my mind at rest though by confirming it is not cancer and is more than likely an infection of the gall bladder. I should be able to bring him home tomorrow.

I guess some drips are life-savers :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.