The Thimble Stones

Firstly, Happy Birthday Mum! 81 today and after skyping with her I swear she's looking younger with every passing year. She's now had her iPad for a year and it's become her constant companion. It's lovely to know you drop in on my blip every day. That's one of the main reasons I'm keeping going!

It's been a mixed bag of a day. After all the stress of last week I managed a good night's sleep but as is often the case I emerged from that feeling rather groggy. I'm trying to find my running legs again so I headed out on to the moor in the morning and did a circuit via the Twelve Apostles, Ashlar Chair and the Thimble Stones here, which sit pretty much at the very high point of the moor. Forrest was playing at Harden today so as soon as I got back it was a quick turnaround and out on the mountain bike to haul myself up here again, past the masts and the long descent to the Aire Valley before climbing back up to Harden a few miles further to the south. It's much quicker going by this direct route than on the road to the east or west, but that climb straight from home felt very long and slow today.

The firsts put in a strong batting performance which meant that Forrest found himself shuffled up and down the order before finally going in at No.10 and scoring a quick 8 not out off as many balls. He also chipped in with the ball to pick up a wicket in a short and economical spell. As soon as the innings was over I was off to try to catch Roam bowl playing for the seconds at home. For the third time in the day I was up at the masts and retraced my steps on the bike where I had run in the morning, past the Thimble Stones here and along the new paved path before cutting down cross-country to the Cow and Calf. It has been ages since I was out on the mountain bike. It was a lot of fun, despite my handling skills being extremely rusty. Unfortunately, by the time I arrived Roam had been removed from the bowling attack, not being able to get in the groove at all. I found him looking rather sorry for himself in the field. I think he suffered from not getting a chance to bowl last week, and also possibly distracted by his start at university in just two weeks. Right now, he just wants to start this new phase of his life.

It was a lot of effort to just see Forrest play eight balls but it was a delight to watch one of our lads in the firsts play a superb innings today, Robbie Oldham hitting a beautifully crafted and finally quite belligerent 94. He so deserved to get a century today. Many hearts missed a beat when he snicked one off just short of the hundred. That was a real shame.

It's strange but although that reads like a lot of exercise it doesn't really feel like it. Since I've got in I've been working and now (actually Sunday morning), I've got to cycle into the office. I've done as much as I can do here. There will be an incentive to get my head down and get the problem sorted as quickly as possible so I can get home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.